UT Southwestern Main Web Site

Curriculum vitae - Dr. Steven Kliewer


The nuclear hormone receptors comprise a family of ligand-activated transcription factors that play pivotal roles in both normal physiology and disease processes. The characterization of these receptors, including their ligands and the genes that they regulate, represents an exciting opportunity to characterize novel biological signaling pathways. In the past, my group has linked nuclear receptors to the regulation of fatty acid, cholesterol, and xenobiotic metabolism. We are currently focused on several nuclear receptors that are highly expressed in the liver and intestine including the bile acid receptor FXR, the xenobiotic receptor PXR, the fatty acid receptor PPAR, and the orphan nuclear receptor LRH-1. We have shown that these nuclear receptors play crucial roles in diverse biological processes including hepatoprotection, xenobiotic detoxification, innate immunity, and endoderm differentiation. We are investigating the utility of nuclear receptor ligands for the treatment of a range of diseases that affect liver and intestine.


  • 1990 Ph.D., University Of California-Los Angeles, Molecular Biology
  • 1985 B.S., Brown University, Biochemistry


  • Professor, Departments of Molecular Biology and Pharmacology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Nancy B. and Jake L. Hamon Distinguished Chair in Basic Cancer Research, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


  • 2014 Adolf Windaus Prize for Bile Acid Research, The Falk Foundation
  • 2005 Endocrine Society Ernst Oppenheimer Award
  • 2004 Aventis Innovative Investigator Award
  • 2003 ISSX North American New Investigator Award
  • 2002 ASPET John J. Abel Award in Pharmacology


  • American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
  • The Endocrine Society
  • International Society for the Study of Xenobiotics

Contact Information

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
6001 Forest Park Road, ND9.504
Dallas , TX 75390-9050

Home | Contact Us | ©2008 Mangelsdorf/Kliewer Laboratory | University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center